MSI 890FXA-GD70 with DDR3 PC20000 2500Mhz?

ottawaxblade

Distinguished
Sep 29, 2010
Hello everyone,

I am new to the Tom's Hardware forums and looking for some help.
A colleague of mine helped me spec out some parts for a new build and I'm not quite sure if what I purchased will work (system not built yet, everything still sealed in their boxes)

I purchased an MSI 890FXA-GD70 mother board, an AMD 1090T Black Edition Processor, an ATI XFX XXX edition 5770 video card and Patriot DDR3 4GB (2x2GB) PC3-20000 2500Mhz ram.

I am really concerned about the ram that was purchased especially having cost me $377 (after shipping and taxes) for 4GB of ram. Will this ram work with my configuration? Will there be any issues? I've attempted to ask MSI this question but their reply was of no help.

Also, to complete the system, I am going to be buying 2 OCZ Vertex 2 SATA II drives and do a RAID 0 for the OS only and 3 Western Digital 1GB Caviar Black Sata III drives placed in a RAID 5.

Any suggestion to what size of Power supply I will need to run all this?

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Can you RMA the RAM and get something else it's way too expensive (it should work though).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231303

The frequency doesn't matter much, the latency is more important. If it's for gaming you can RMA the video card as well and get a much more powerful HD 5850. The mobo is also on the expensive side and it supports multiple ATI video cards.

You can get this modular PSU, it's good for a HD 5850 crossfire and modular.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817207002&cm_re=XFX_650-_-17-207-002-_-Product

Or this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817207003

ottawaxblade

Distinguished
Sep 29, 2010
Thanks to all that have replied and for your suggestions.
I'm not much of a PC gamer (90% of my gaming is done on consoles) so i thought that having the XFX 5770 overclocked edition would be sufficient.