SRX400 Linksys Shuts Down

nachristiansen

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2010
I have had this linksys srx400 for at least three years. Since last sunday, when I turn it on, the power led blinks for about 40 seconds and then it shuts down completely. Pressing the reset button won't work having me to disconnect the power strip to see any action. Thanks!

mindxless

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2009
go to device manager and uninstall and reinstall the driver, see if that fixes your problem. device manager can be found by (vista) clicking on start and in the search typing device manager. When you get the device manager open, find the network adapters and under that look for linksys device. hope this helps you:D

G

My 3 year old SRX400 just started doing the same thing. Being an electrical engineer, I took it apart.

As anticipated, the power supply circuit was busted. The 2 large capacitors had bulges in them - "teapo" brand often referred to as "cheapo" had expired of natural causes. You wouldn't believe how many of those I pulled out of electronics over the years. They are very poorly made and normally last 3 years or so, even under ideal conditions.

I replaced the caps, but that didn't fix the problem either. So when the capacitors died, something else got pulled along. I did some additional testing and... cutting the long story short, I had to connect pin #3 of AP1510 step-down converter to the ground through a 220K resistor. The current controller is the small 8-pin surface mounted microchip sitting right by the power plug. Total cost of repair - about 80 cents in parts.

At least the manufacturer didn't go cheap on the capacitor ratings, like others. Samsung is the worst offender of all. Not only do they use "teapo" caps in their circuits, but also rate them closely to the circuit voltage, so sure, they blow up in no time!