6 or 8 gigs of what kind?

Aquarian76

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2010
I'm still learning so sorry if this has been answered already.

I'm about to buy an ASUS Crosshair IV with the Phenom 965 CPU, and Radeon 5850.
I wanted to know what is the best name/types of DDR3 memory that works better with these boards or does it matter? Like....am I supposed to get the 1600 or 2000 version? Plus I saw something that said Hyper-threading, and so-and-so but at an extra $40 for the same amount of mem? Can I just get a couple names you guys like using? :)

Also if it matters, I'm going to run Windows 7 Pro 64 bit for a few games like LOTRO, movies, music, and multi-tasking several non-intensive apps, maybe while I've got LOTRO open. Do I need more of it towards 8 gigs or will 6 be just cutting it?

Oh I almost forgot...does it matter getting multiple 2 gig sticks and filling all 4 of the slots? Vs. getting just two of the 4 gig sticks only filling 2 of the 4 slots. :::shrug::::

Asking is always good, so no worries! :)
Well between 1600 and 2000,I'd recommend going with 1600 because its cheaper and also the difference between them isn't noticeable in games/apps.
Hyper-threading is for the CPU(Its for some Intel models such as the latest i7 CPUs)
For your tasks,4GB is enough, i would recommend 8GB only if you have multiple pages of Image/Video editing opened at the same time.

The difference in speed between 1600 MHz and 2000 Mhz will be 2-6 FPS, but the cost factor is something that needs to be factored-in and weighed against; instead I would buy 1600 MHz DDR and use the savings for a better GPU.

In addition, "Best Practices" - use either Certified or Tested and the same Part-Number {Speed, CAS, Voltage}. The advantage to Certified for most MOBO's is the simplicity of changing typically 1 BIOS setting vs manually configuring RAM which is not too complex:
1. Certified RAM: MOBO Mfg {e.g. ASUS, GA, MSI, etc} tested and certified; including BIOS XMP recognized.