Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I7 compatibility issues

Last response: in Systems
February 18, 2010 4:09:53 AM

slowly aquiring pieces for my new build. Got an i7 920 cpu. thinking of getting:
evga x58 classified mobo (760)
ocz gold ddr3 1600mghz 6gb
radeon 5770 1gb x2
wd raptors 10k 1T x2 raid 0
antec 1200 case
corsair hx750w psu
LG blu ray optical
coolermaster v8

Im not very experienced with building computers but I have done a little research. Can anyone help see if this is all compatible. Im not to serious of a gamer. I do play CoD4. What im really afer is a killer work computer. And mostly a computer to replace my huge cable bill. General question for everyone. Is it possible to watch at least 2 maybe 3 tv's, 2 or 3 different streaming videos 1 for each tv, from the internet on 1 pc. I have all the site where i can watch any channel comcast has for free but my amd computer sucks on just 1 tv

More about : compatibility issues

Best solution

February 18, 2010 6:47:21 AM

^
1. You wont need that mobo - It is more of an enthusiast component than mainstream.
Change to any of these
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productcompare.aspx?Submi...

2. Graphics card - @x HD 5770s are very powerful but for your needs, stick with a single powerful card like the HD 5850...It would suffice for gaming and a single HD 5850 can give 3 video outputs...But there is a catch though - You would need atleast 1 monitor/ TV with a Display port or use an active display port adaptor to output 1080p resolution video input on to the TVs/ Monitors...

3. WD Raptors 1TB ? I dont think there are 1TB flavours of the raptor...I would suggest you take a look into the SSDs...they are better but still command a price premium(but looking at the cost of the components that you have selected, I dont think it would be difficult to include those in your build)
So go with a 60/ 80GB SSD and a 1TB HDD setup...