P6x58d-e runs RAM @ 1066

dtorres

Distinguished
Sep 30, 2010
First and foremost, I am fairly new to the world of overclockers.
I have p6x58d-e motherboard. I have Corsair dominators TR3X6G1600C8D. Corsair HX850 PSU. I7 930 (stock HSF).
I just want to be able to run my RAM @ 1600. Although it isnt necessarily overclocking, since its rated to run at that speed,
my motherboard detects it @ 1066mhz.

I have attempted to turn on the XMP profile via bios, but am hesitant since once the change takes place its gives me a warning in DRAM Voltage about the voltage being to high and possibly killing my processor. the xmp profile sets the dram voltage to 1.66v.

If anyone can help me in getting the proper settings so that I can get my ram to run @ rated speeds. I dont plan on overclocking my cpu just yet since I have stock HSF. Most likely will get corsair H50. Any suggestions on that will also be appreciated.

Please HELP!!! I just want to run my ram @ rated speeds with the proper timing.

Solution
Hello.

I'm not sure what this "XMP" thing is but if it is raising the Voltage above spec then turn it off. Also set your RAM voltage to your RAMs specced voltage.

There is a "Base Clock" which has a default value of 133MHz for all i3/5/7. Both the CPU and RAM speed come off this with a "Multiplier". For example your i7 930 has a 22x multiplier (I think) and thus:
22 X 133MHz = 2926MHz = 2.9GHz
This is the clockspeed of the CPU.

The RAM also has a multiplier, its default value is 10x:
10 X 133MHz = 1333MHz
This is the RAM speed.

Though the RAMs multi can be changed. It has values of 10, 8 and sometimes 6. Notice that you cannot get 1600MHz RAM speed from any of these multis? Instead to get a RAM speed of 1600MHz the Base Clock must...

Wolygon

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2010
Hello.

I'm not sure what this "XMP" thing is but if it is raising the Voltage above spec then turn it off. Also set your RAM voltage to your RAMs specced voltage.