Sign in with
Your question

Unable to find the weakest link in my OC setup

Last response: in Overclocking
November 28, 2012 7:02:44 PM

So I'm relatively new to the world of overclocking (as will become apparent, no doubt). I recently picked up an MSI Radeon 7950 gfx card, and an Antec 750W PSU. I've got an ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 mobo and an Athlon II X4 640 processor. I used the auto overclocking function on my BIOS (probably my first mistake) which claims to OC my CPU to a stable 3.4MHz (CPU-Z confirmed this figure); I've also OC'ed my GPU up to about 90% usage but don't know how to get it any higher.

I ran a test on Heaven with this set up. All the settings on Heaven were ramped up to the max and I got a score of 834, and an average FPS of about 34. I then started playing Assassin's Creed 3 and within about 30 seconds got a BSOD and an error saying my CPU had overheated (no surprises there).

For someone who's recently acquired a new graphics card I'm seeing very little improvement in terms of FPS so I'm certain there's a problem somewhere, but where?
a c 227 à CPUs
a c 136 K Overclocking
November 28, 2012 7:18:51 PM

You have a CPU bottleneck. What CPU cooler do you have?

Please tell me not stock...
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
November 28, 2012 9:45:09 PM

Novuake said:
You have a CPU bottleneck. What CPU cooler do you have?

Please tell me not stock...

Got bad news for you :)  OK so I need to get a new cooling system; Christ, it just keeps adding up! What would you recommend?

Having read around, I was under the impression an Athlon 640 wouldn't bottleneck a 7950...
a c 227 à CPUs
a c 136 K Overclocking
November 29, 2012 5:12:04 AM

Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO is good if you are under a budget...
a c 104 à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
November 29, 2012 5:23:46 AM

Hyper 212 + or EVO, yeah.