Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Left 4 Dead 2 budget build

Last response: in Systems
February 18, 2010 6:15:44 PM

I recently bought Left 4 Dead 2 to play on freshly built system (November of last year)... but after tiring of the uncoordinated bot allies, I'd like to try playing with some humans. Specifically, my younger brother.

He's currently using my father's pc... and though I haven't looked at it in a while, I'm fairly certain that it's specs are as follows:

CPU: Pentium 4 @ 2.8 ghz
Graphics Card: 128 mb PCI-E X16 Radeon X300 SE
DVD: Standard 16x
RAM: 512 mb SDRAM @ 400 mhz (256 mb x2)
HDD: 80 gb SATA 7200 rpm

Unfortunately, I'm unsure of the non-Dell brands... and I have no idea what Dell used for the mobo.

Given that, I'm hoping (as I have no experience with "serious" gaming nor optimizing) that someone here might be able to provide a plan for upgrading my father's pc, or building a very low-budget alternative. I'm only interested in using this pc for gaming... in case anyone was going to recommend any over-the-top parts (like a 1 tb HDD).

I have no experience with overclocking, but I'm confident in my ability to succeed at it (with a reasonable amount of research).

So, to sum my request up....

LEFT 4 DEAD 2 SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS:
Minimum:
OS: Windows 7 / Windows Vista / Windows Vista64 / Windows XP
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.0 GHz
RAM: 1 GB for XP / 2GB for Vista
HDD: 7.5 GB Free
Graphics Card: DirectX 9 compatible video card with 128 MB, Shader model 2.0. ATI X800, NVidia 6600 or better
DirectX: 9.0c
Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card

Recommended:
OS: Windows 7 / Windows Vista / Windows Vista64 / Windows XP
CPU: Intel core 2 duo 2.4GHz
RAM: 1 GB for XP / 2GB for Vista
HDD: 7.5 GB Free
Graphics Card: DirectX 9 compatible video card with Shader model 3.0. NVidia 7600, ATI X1600 or better
DirectX: 9.0c
Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card

Summary:

Budget: Low as possible, preferably not over $200 if optimizing, $250 if building.