Is the Upcoming i7 930 worth the wait?

edifice

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2010
Hey guys,

I am just posting this as a complete noob in the hope that someone can help!!!

I am wanting to upgrade my current system to a core i7 CPU rig and I just want to know if whether or not you seem to think that the difference betweeon the i7 920 and the supposed upcoming 930, is great enough to warrant the wait? And more to the point, is the 930 due to be released as I keep seeing on the 28th of February? As other than various forums and from what I can gather there is no official news from Intel and the release date is a little over a week away?!

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks!!!!

4trees

Distinguished
Dec 4, 2009

You might as well wait for the 930, it will be available on 2/28 (already been released for sale at many Frys stores for several weeks). If you are not planning to overclock at all then I would buy the 930 for the increased freq of 2.8 assuming the price difference, if any between the 920, isn't too great. Otherwise you are ignoring .2ghz for no extra cost. The 930 should be priced the same as the 920. If you have a Microcenter store around you definitely go there they will likely be $200 plus tax same price as the 920 currently. Most retailers are selling the 920 for about $280 vs. Microcenter's great deal.

If you plan to overclock...