Intel Core i5 lynfield 2.66 and e8400

phesoge

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2010
Hello all,

I am building my first system and had a few questions. A friend of mine has a brand new e8400 that he will give me for 130 dollars. Should I use this chip or go to the quad core i5 for 200. I understand the e8400 is an older chip, and in the news system build guide it is generally reccomendeds to to go with a quad core on new system builds. When the entire system is finished I plan on running Windows 7 professional, and will use the pc mainly for gaming.
the max I want to spend on a cpu is 200 or 250. I guess Another concern of mine is will I be able to utilze all 4 cores of I go with the quad core, or should i stick with the e8400 because I am getting it for fairly cheap? if any of these questions seem ridiculous bare with me I am just getting into this stuff. lol.

thanks

phesoge

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2010
Quick add to this. t follow protocol on new system build question which I should of done initially, and to give people better background of situation.

Approximate Purchase Date: ASAP. Now- 1 week.
System usage:Gaming, Movies, Web, Office apps, and multimedia. Will be running windows 7 professional.
Budget Range: 800 dollars after rebates.
Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, Case (have a nzxt tempest)
Parts preference: Intel cpu
Overclocking: Doubtful

daggs

Distinguished
May 12, 2009
actually, the e8400 is a great cpu but the diff isn't favorable, you can find a good i5 build here in the forum but you might be able to get a better gpu if you decide to go the amd route.

phesoge

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2010
I am going to be using 64 bit windows 7. Part of me wonders if I just go wih a q9500. I personally want to use an intel processor. Still not sure what to do. I am thinking I will most likely go with an ATI 5770 video card. Not sure how much that effects tis decision.

Alvin Smith

Distinguished