New build... Converted from console gaming.

G

7/8 years ago I used to build computers but switched to console(xbox) due to the hassle but now I am back, I have been observing from afar and built this system by reading reviews/opinions on this site & now I would like your opinions please mainly regarding temps.

S1 gaming case
ASUS p8z77 V LX
I5 3570K @ 4.9 ghz(turbo boost) / 1.4V
16 gb ddr 1600 (kingston hyper X 4 x 4gb)
Evga GTX 660 TI 2gb 1190/1100
corsair cx750

Idle cpu temp is 32-35c and after playing battlefield 3 online @ MAX settings for 3 hours my cpu temp was at 82c

My question is how long can I expect the system to last before the cpu buckles? I was hoping for a minimum of 3 years, your opinions would be greatly appreciated as I am not an expert when it comes to temps and how they can affect the life of your cpu.

Kind regards, Paul.

p.s this is a gaming p.c and was made for that purpose only. I play games on average 2-5 hours per day, hope this information helps.

You can lower the voltage and speed for 4.5 ghz when gaming, you'll get same performance.
1.4v is the maximum and your risking it, and get a better cooler for that kind of oc like the noctua nh-d14 or termalright silver arrow.

G

thanks for the response I will take it into mind. Can I ask though what do you mean by risking it? My idea for this rig is no upgrades really so in 2-3 years time I will build another.

Do you think at 1.4v and @ 80-90c for 2-5 hours a day I could last 2-3 years? Thanks again.

But why such high voltage/speed and heat for a cooler that(although a decent one) it is not fit for that, when with lower voltage/speed like 4.5 ghz will get the same performance and less heat.
Or if you want to stay at that voltage/speeds get like i said a noctua d14 or silver arrow or better yet a watercooling system cause that temperatures are too high.

kyufaker

Honorable
Apr 17, 2012