What is Overclocking??

AmaanK

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2012
Hiiii.....I am quite new to these things.
SO
My question is

WHAT IS OVERCLOCKING?? WHAT DOES IT DO ?? ANY ADVANTAGES FOR GAMING ??

Thank You!!

Solution
G
Overclocking in simple terms is pushing your hardware past the default setting. Yes it can improve gaming but as I have myself just learned once you get over a certain speed ( 4 ghz ish ) I do not believe it makes much impact.

overclocking isn't to be taken lightly you need to know the limit of your hardware and be sure to watch out for over-volting and hardware temps.

I am sure somebody else will reply with a much better answer but this is the best way I could explain it to somebody new.

Hope it helps.
G

Overclocking in simple terms is pushing your hardware past the default setting. Yes it can improve gaming but as I have myself just learned once you get over a certain speed ( 4 ghz ish ) I do not believe it makes much impact.

overclocking isn't to be taken lightly you need to know the limit of your hardware and be sure to watch out for over-volting and hardware temps.

I am sure somebody else will reply with a much better answer but this is the best way I could explain it to somebody new.

Hope it helps.

Solution
G

Also a good cooling solution is needed for overclocking and most people won't recommend it unless you have adequate cooling and in 90% of people's eyes you shouldn't do it on stock cooling and should purchase a named branded one instead.

Here's how Wikipedia describes overclocking