Sign in with
Your question

I7 920 vs Thuban

Last response: in Systems
February 21, 2010 6:43:52 PM

ok so my current rig is a AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego over clocked to 2299 mhz (from a stock of 2000 mhz i think). 1 gig of system ram with a 7900 gs nvidia 256 video ram. to a 42 inch 1080p tv
i have been saving up money for a new cpu for a few years now i have 1000$ not hard limit
i was thinking of buying a i7 920 system

the thing is i am willing to wait a while if it would make my choices better.
the Thuban looks like it could be any ideas on how it would compare to the i7 920.
i know there is alot of controversy on the turbo boost but one of the main things i want to do with my new setup is pcsx2 and that can olny use 2 cores so turobo boost can help with that to my understanding.

the other things i want to use it for is archiving unarchived hulu burning dvds video games from fallout3 to star craft2.
also i found a deal
http://deals.woot.com/deals/details/21a27d6c-952e-40d4-...
i am OK going refurb i have seen other deals like that seems to be as good or better than i can build from parts some times

in summary:

#1 do you think waiting another 3 months would benefit me
#2 i7 920 vs thuban Phenom II X6 1055T
#3 if no to #1 what is your suggested build for a i7 920 or should i just go pre build like the above link
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: next 3 months

BUDGET RANGE: Around $1000

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming,pcsx2, hulu, archiveing

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS, DVD player, hard drive

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: new egg

PARTS PREFERENCES: i7 920 3gigs ram after dual channel

OVERCLOCKING: dont care

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: dont care

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1080p 60 hz

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: dont care about looks or noise

More about : 920 thuban

February 21, 2010 8:24:09 PM

well if you can wait then wait, theres no harm in waiting, could save you alot of money