Sign in with
Your question

Complete noob at OC needs help.

Last response: in Overclocking
December 5, 2012 9:11:08 AM

Hey folks!

My rig is as follows:

Motherboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe B3 - ATX / Intel P67 / DDR3 / 3xPCI-E / SATA 3.0 / USB 3.0 / Firewire
Processor (CPU): Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4GHz / 8MB / Socket 1155 (Boxed) (Liquid cooled, home made)
RAM: 16GB (4/4/4/4) Corsair 1600Mhz
Power Supply (PSU): OCZ PowerSupply (PSU) ZX Series 1250W
WaterCooling Heatsink/fan (H2O): Home made liquid cooling for CPU, 2x GPU's.
Graphics Card (GPU): 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB (21187-00-40R) - PCI-E / DVI / HDMI / DP (Both are liquid cooled, home made)

And I have no clue to overclock, I've read a few topics but seems like an ocean of info.

With my motherboard there seems to be a TPU function and I've enabled it and ran CPUID and it says I'm at stock 3.4Ghz but when I look at core speed it says 4430MHz and before I turned on my TPU it says 3400MHz and in my bios under advanced settings its set to 4430Mhz.

And everytime I start my computer it starts and then 4-5 seconds later it shuts down for 2-3 seconds and then it turn itself back on and starts up fine, why?

I hope there's a few techies out there that can lend a fella a hand here, I'm so lost and I don't know whats wrong.

I'm trying to get this TPU function to work, help me please.

Thanks!

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2sahv0w&s=6

More about : complete noob

a c 95 à CPUs
a c 225 K Overclocking
December 5, 2012 10:42:01 AM

Study the guides until you understand before you mess something up, that's what we took the time to write the guides for, but your responsibility is to study first then do your overclocking, once you understand what you're doing.
December 5, 2012 12:51:58 PM

4Ryan6 said: