Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need help for living room HTPC

Last response: in Systems
February 22, 2010 2:19:57 AM

Well I finally decided that with the advent of so much great HD media that I'd like to build a HTPC for the living room the only problem is I am very new to the hardware game and have only put together one gaming PC before while this time I am looking for a different set of parameters (video, HD video, HDMI) and I am not even sure where to start. If anybody could give me a few suggestions or perhaps point me towards a killer HTPC setup they built themselves that would be great!

STATS
--------------------------------

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: ASAP

BUDGET RANGE: $800

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Watching HD movies on the Samsung

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Wireless Mouse/Keyboard / Samsung LN32B530 32-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV / OS (open to suggestions..) / BASIQ 500watt new PSU (but I am willing to switch it out if neccisary)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Amazon is preferable but if Newegg.com has a much better price/free shipping, I have no problems with them either.

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: I'd like the parts to be shipped from state-to-state in the USA.

PARTS PREFERENCES: Mid-ATX Case by Lian Li, BluRay drive, room for 2 3.5" (believe that is the normal size) hard drive bays, quality fans

OVERCLOCKING: No

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920×1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Should be relatively quiet. Willing to sacrifice some sound to stay under budget.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More about : living room htpc

February 22, 2010 2:28:49 AM

I'm not much of an Amazon shopper. My suggestions from Newegg:
nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 5000B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case - Retail
Nice little HTPC case.
$60

GIGABYTE GA-785GMT-USB3 AM3 AMD 785G USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail