Sign in with
Your question

OC'ing my 3770k

Last response: in Overclocking
December 5, 2012 7:11:34 PM

Hello guys, i am new to this forum and also new to over-clocking.
I recently bought / build (with a friend) my new pc. I talked me into buying the 3770k over the 3770 since it has alot more potential for OC'ing (and it was 20 bucks more).

But, i am totally new to this.

I run a 3770k and a Asus Z77 Pro 4 motherboard under it. (on Air cooled)
Are there people who run this setup (or something familiar) and can help me get started?

Like, what programs to use to OC, how to OC, etc etc. My processor is 3,5 ghz with single core boost towards 3,9 ghz at the moment. Since i am new to this i don't want to go over the top and start simple, so my aim is 4 / 4,2 ghz. (for all cores of course).

If i can get 4,2 stable with not to much voltage (would be really happy with standard voltage, read it was possible for 4,2) i will stay there. No need for me to go higher.

More about : ing 3770k

December 5, 2012 7:20:52 PM

Can somebody also tell me like when will my 3770k use the turbo mode to 3,9 ghz?
December 5, 2012 7:34:28 PM

Use CPUZ, HWMonitor, and prime95.

I have the same motherboard and CPU but I have liquid cooling.

You can begin by going into the BIOS and chaging the multiplier to 42 for 4.2GHz. I believe you do not need to change the voltage at all to reach 4.2GHz. Boot up open HWMonitor and start running Prime95, watch your CPU temps, anything around 80C is fine for ivy bridge. If it is unstable then you need to up the voltage a bit.

If you want more... Try changing the multiplier in the bios to x45 and the vcore to 1.2v.

Thats about as far as you can go with air cooling.
Related resources
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
December 5, 2012 7:37:47 PM

KiraKrysis said:
Use CPUZ, HWMonitor, and prime95.

I have the same motherboard and CPU but I have liquid cooling.