Failed to overclock and now PC won\'t start

Trisam

Honorable
Dec 5, 2012
Hey all, let me start off by saying I realize I screwed up.

I'm new to overclocking my cpu and decided to give it a shot, updated my bios and went around hunting for guides.

My cpu is a phenom ii x4 965 processor and I was following the guide posted here http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/254559-29-phenom-overclocking-help by AsAnAtheist. Things were going smoothly, but I bumped my voltage up by 0.5 instead of 0.05 after misreading what he wrote.

The computer was doing okay, I turned it off to reboot it one more time for an unrelated reason and now it won't start. The fans on everything turn on (gpu, cpu, power supply, case fans, etc) but it's not quite as noisy as it used to be and there's no 'beep' like normal. My monitor isn't picking anything up and I can't get to the bios to undo the changes.

I have tried to reset the jumper on my motherboard with no success.

Am I screwed or is there a chance to fix this?

Edit: To add, my computer starts up when I press the power button, but will not shut off unless I unplug/turn off the power supply in the back.

Computer specs are

Motherboard: GA-990FXA-UD3
CPU: Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition
GPU: MSI Geforce 560 Twin Frozr II
Ram: 240-Pin 8 GB DDR3 1600Mhz

Solution