Sign in with
Your question

Just installed PII X4 965, @ 2.7GHz and TERRIBLE performance

Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
April 30, 2010 2:43:22 AM

Hi,

I just installed a Phenom II X4 965 BE as the title says, and after finally getting it to "work" (I'm a newb) dxdiag says 'Processor model is unknown' and then '2.7 GHz'. I tried playing an extremely low-end game (War Rock) and got around 50-80 FPS, whereas I got 130-142 (142 = cap) with my Athlon 4850e.

My temps: http://imgur.com/BPT70.png

My processor is brand new (came earlier today), and although the delivery guy left it on the porch in the rain, there "shouldn't" be anything wrong with it. How can I check (physically)?

Thanks...

p.s. I don't think the fan is spinning fast enough, if that indicates anything.
a b à CPUs
April 30, 2010 2:52:03 AM

The problem would be that your MOBO bios does not recognize the CPU and is therefore not setting it to the correct settings -- Do you have the latest version of BIOS for your MOBO and does your MOBO support the 965 ?? -- the 965 is supposed to run at 3.4GHZ. so running it at 2.7GHz. is way underclocked and will effect performance -- try flashing your MOBO bios if it is supported or go into the BIOS and manually set the voltage and speed for the CPU.
m
l
a b à CPUs
April 30, 2010 2:53:58 AM

Yes, this screams bios. What motherboard are you using?
m
l
a b à CPUs
April 30, 2010 3:13:07 AM

Quote:
My mobo supports the 965 AFAIK. It's GA-MA74GM-S2.

I'm going to update my BIOS to the most recent version, that isn't a beta. ( F4 from http://www.giga-byte.ca/Support/Motherboard/BIOS_Model.... )

Two quick points.

1) There are 5 different revisions of that board. Make sure you get the right bios for your particular board.

2) NONE of the 5 versions of the board model you gave support the phenom 965. In fact, they do not support any 125 watt or greater phenoms. This may be your problem.