1866 RAM really slow! WHY?!

Tags:
  • Memory
  • Overclocking
  • RAM
Last response: in Overclocking
December 6, 2012 9:36:57 PM

Hello,
I am a noob when it comes to overclocking and i have been experimenting a bit, but i noticed just recently that my RAM score on passmark's benchamrk software sucks. I don't understand why because it is fast RAM. Here are my system specs:
Mobo: Asus M5A97
CPU: AMD FX-8150 (OC to 4.0Ghz)
RAM: 2x 4GB GSkill Sniper Series DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Dimms
GPU: Asus GTX 560
SSD: OCZ Vertex 3 120GB

I noticed that my RAM score was something like 1246 and a friend of mine with RAM running at 1600Mhz got a score of something like 3000. What gives? I don't understand why mine can be so low compared to his. Any help here either with how to change settings or overclock my RAM would be welcomed!

More about : 1866 ram slow

a b } Memory
a b K Overclocking
December 7, 2012 1:24:48 PM

That's probably got a LOT to do with the timing on your ram. After 1600mhz there really isn't much of a gain as the ram doesn't really utilize the bandwidth to it's potential. Now timing is how quick the memory does it's "transactions". Lower/Tighter timings = better overall performance. Even 2000mhz ram with bad timing can be slaughtered in benchmarks with 1600 on decent timings.
m
l
a b } Memory
a b K Overclocking
December 7, 2012 1:42:46 PM

what's your ram actually running at ? if you don't set it to run at speed it will default to 1333. ( BIOS )
m
l
Related resources
December 7, 2012 2:03:01 PM

Yeah, you actually have to load the profile for your ram in the BIOS in order for it to run at 1866. The profile setting was at the bottom of the list of frequency settings.

Also, make sure you have 1 stick in each channel instead of the same channel. Should be something like 1, empty, 2, empty. The first being the closest to your cpu. Check your mobo manual to be sure.
m
l
a c 75 } Memory
a b K Overclocking
December 7, 2012 2:11:24 PM