owenthelost

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2010
Hi all - I am not brand new to building PCs (this will be my 3rd), though I am new to encountering major problems.

My board does not POST on power on. Fans spin, components are getting power, but no POST and no BIOS interface. I have done my best to follow the extremely helpful guides sticky-posted in this forum but no luck so far. The troubleshooting I've done so far, as well as my configuration, is included below.

I'm pretty confident I have not damaged the components so I wonder if I have made mistakes with compatibility... though I've double-checked gigabyte.us for the CPU compatibility and am unsure what I might be missing.

Any guidance would be appreciated! Is it time for me to return the board to the vendor or have I missed something? I'll be giving all the threads on here another look before I send it back but I'm pretty close to giving up on this one.

Owen

---

Troubleshooting:
1)I installed all hardware in my case, connected all hardware listed below as well as monitor, keyboard, and mouse according to the provided instructions and consistent with previous PC builds I have done. There were no problems with CPU or heatsink installation, chip fit normally without undue force and fit securely in the socket. No static discharges were noted during installation and precautions were taken to avoid them. At power on, components are powering on including the HDD, CPU fan, case fans and front panel LEDs, but no beeps are heard and no BIOS interface seen on monitor.
2)I confirmed that the monitor is working and connected it to the graphics card DVI port, as well as the onboard video VGA and DVI ports. No change.
3)I confirmed that the CPU is on the Gigabyte supported list given on gigabyte.us.
4)I disconnected the graphics card, then DVD-RW drive, then HDD. No change.