Help: Upgrade to Budget GPU

Hi all:)

I'm quite new to the world of gaming. Looking to buy a graphics card and i need some help. Recently i bought a new CPU:

Amd Athlon 2 X2 250
Asus M2N-68AM Plus
2gig X1 ram DDR2 800

I'm thinking of buying a new GPU now. Pls suggest a good budget GPU.

And my smps is 450w. Should i upgrade it to a 600w to run a GPU? MY smps doesnt have 6pin pci-e supply :( only one sata power cable and one 5-pin ATA cable. Can i use the current smps or should i upgrade? And if i upgrade should i go for a brand like CoolerMaster or will the cheaper ones (available at 1/4th the price) do?

Thanks in advance.
12 answers Last reply
More about help upgrade budget
  1. What's your budget for a PSU+GPU? You could buy an HD5670 at $100, and you won't need a new PSU.
  2. What is the native resolution of your monitor and how much do you have to spend?
    Most low end cards will be ok on even a sketchy 450w PSU.
  3. I currently own a 15" CRT :( but i might upgrade soon but no plans as of now.
    So resolution is 1024x768.

And budget is around $80 GPU+PSU. If i dont need a new PSU then i can go for a better GPU. But i'm really clueless abt the PSU power supply stuff. How do i get the 6pin supply from the single 5-pin ata cable?
  4. You don't need a PSU. Just get a $95 HD5670.
  5. With only $80 to spend just keep your current PSU. If you need to fit a PSU in that budget the only cards you'll be able to afford are very weak.
    Are you sure you can't stretch the budget a lil? This would be very nice;
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127452
    much better than the cards available at $80 and should be ok for a 450w psu.
  6. Even a 5770 would be fine on your PSU since it consumes less energy than a 4870 or 4850 I believe.

A 5670 is great for your budget range and performs close to a 4830 or 8800/9800GT