New build, installed OS before running Bios, HDD not recognized

wut2dew

Honorable
Mar 5, 2012
Hello all, I'm a semi noob, but I did do my research. In fact I read and read and read and finally got my new PC together and I'm very proud!!

Here's the build:

Corsair 600t case
GIGABYTE GA-990XA-UD3
AMD Phenom II X4 960T
G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB (2 x 4GB)
ASUS ENGTX550 TI (SLI later)
ASUS Xonar Essence sxt
OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W psu
Crucial M4 CT064M4SSD2
Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB
LITE-ON 24X DVD Writer

Here is where I believe I made a mistake. I put the thing together and then powered it up. The first thing it did was ask for the OS boot disk, so I put it in. I had Both of the drives connected at this time. As of right now, windows 7 is on the SSD, but I have not done the bios yet, so I'm pretty sure I'm backasswards on this. I've been reading that windows likes to put some files on the HDD and I don't want that. Right now windows is not recognizing the hdd, but when I go into manage devices it is there with 100mb already having been allocated (to what I do not know) and the rest is unallocated.

I am not against redoing the whole process. I just want all of windows on the SSD and most everything else on the HDD. I understand that the footprint on the SSD will continue to grow so I'll monitor that, but first things first. Before I run the SSD optimization guide from The SSD review, what do I need to do to fix my issues, being that the hdd is not recognized and I think windows may have put some files onto it. This PC is brand new so I hate to get off on the wrong foot. I read many posts, but I did not come across one that had the same exact circumstances as myself. If I must be chastised so be it, I would obviously prefer constructive criticism though, after all, we all want the same thing, for our computers to run the best they can :)
Thank you all in advance -----J

Solution
I see a bunch of misinformation here.