Case Cooling Help (Beginner)

amoguy1

Honorable
Aug 22, 2012
Hai everyone. After building my first computer, i felt the need to add more fans due to how hot it gets in my case (NZXT Phantom). I'm buying 2 200mm fans, 1 140mm fan, and a COOLER MASTER Hyper 212. My main issue is the cooling in my case, I am a total noob with it. I have no idea which way the fans should be.

Would help if someone explained how fans work, and why they should be which way. Also which way my psu should be? My case has the ability for it to be either down or up. My case is on carpet, so i don't really know.

Thanks dudes :D

Case = ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811146067 )

7 Fan Cooling Options: Dual 200mm, Single 230/200mm, Triple 120mm, and Front 140mm

steddora

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
The basic idea, bring in cold air and exhaust hot air. I always do the math and add the CFM coming in and the CFM coming out. CFM = Cubic feet per minute.

Setup? Basic rule of thumb for people with low experience go with the "golden" method.

Intake in the front/side panel
Exhaust out the back and top

Personally I keep the "positive pressure" rule in work in my machines. When building your system it's a must to have good ventilation. However, ventilation causes air movement which brings dust in and dust = heat over time! So the idea goes back to adding the CFM in and CFM out.

If you have 200CFM coming in and 200CFM going out, you're pretty much at neutral pressure. This simply means the air is being evacuated at the same rate as it's coming in.

If you have 200CFM coming in and say 250CFM going out, you have negative pressure. This means the exhaust fans are actually pulling out air faster than the intakes are pulling air in. Now, this is why I keep positive pressure. When you run with negative pressure, your case which isn't sealed will have air coming in from everywhere which can actually cause more dust to enter the case and even disrupt a good airflow.