24 hour leak testing

MagR

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2009
Hi

I'm pretty new to watercooling and am about to replumb my loop to make the layout a bit neater and add some diffferent tubing and fittings. I've read a couple of articles recently advising on a 24 hour leak test before powering everything up. Previousy I've always run the pump for a few hours (probably 4-6 hours) and if I couldn't find any leaks I've started using the system.

My question is what do they mean by 24 hour testing? Does this mean I run the pump continuously for 24 hours (with no other components connected) or do I just leave the system standing idle for 24 hours without pumping? Or do I use a combination of the two? Also why is 24 hours better than the 4 - 6 hours I've used before? I would have thought leaks would show up fairly quickly - the only leak I've ever had so far was immediate as I hadn't screwed down a jubilee clip properly.

I apologise if my question seems a bit simple but I'm trying to learn the correct way of doing things to prevent problems.

Thanks in advance

Mag

thequn

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2012
Its 50% leakage - 50% air pockets removal/bleeding in my last system i had to bleed it for 3 days... because i added a 25% uv blue coolant which I didn't per mix and caused the soaping loop issue it was really cool to watch the vortex of air in my loops witch made it worth it. It was also the first time I ever water cooled a GPU so that was fun.

Its not really necessary to test for 24 hours, you can notice leaks pretty quickly as you say, and some rotation of the case will help with bleeding air pockets out,
Most people do a couple of hours at most
I don't bother
**Edit, was posting from phone earlier,
I should have said I don't leaktest as my loop doesn't permit it, its too complicated :p
Moto

Lutfij

Titan
@ modo - :lol: