Sign in with
Your question

Advice on i7 860 build

Last response: in Systems
February 24, 2010 2:17:11 AM

Alright, this is what i have so far. i was wondering if someone could help me improve this build or let me know if something isnt compatible as this is my first build.

CPU- i7 860

Motherboard- GIGABYTE GA -P55M-UD4 LGA 1156 Intel P55 Micro ATX

GPU- XFX HD-575X-ZNFC Radeon HD 5750 1GB 128-bit GDDR5

PSU- Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W

HDD- Samsung F3 SPINPOINT 500MB

CASE- ANTEC 300

RAM - NOT SURE WHAT RAM TO GET. ANY SUGGESTIONS??

IS THERE ANYTHING IM FORGETTING? DO I NEED TO BUY A COOLING SYSTEM? i am using the computer for some gamming but more music and video editing.

ANY ADVICE AT ALL WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED..

THANK YOU

More about : advice 860 build

February 24, 2010 2:30:29 AM

Looks like you've done your research (good to see a spinpoint f3 in there :) ).

Everything you've listed so far is compatible. Your i7 will come with a small aluminum CPU cooler which will do just fine as long as you're not overclocking. Good call on getting an ATI card, and an XFX at that. Your PSU is a good brand, has an 80+ certification, and will be enough power for the build you have listed. It also has the necessary connectors for your video card.

For RAM, you'll want to look for G.Skill Ripjaw, it's availabe at Newegg, as well as many other places Im sure. You'll want to get Dual Channel DDR3, as that is what your motherboard supports.
Related resources
February 24, 2010 2:46:41 AM

Trying to keep it under $1500 but i am in Canada and unable to get the same prices newegg offers. Im going to search a couple Canadian websites and figure out pricing.
Hopefully the G.Skill Ripjaw is available here in Canada. I'll find out in a minute or two.

Thanks djg9205 i really appreciate all your advice.
February 24, 2010 2:52:47 AM