Dienekes78

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2012
I have a new ASUS Bamboo U43-F Laptop I bought for business. Given I’m a one man travelling consultant, I decided to make a mirror image backup of the hard drive wiht all my tools installed and buy a spare hard drive to replace the 160 GB drive that came with the machine – this as a precaution and as a hot spare. I thought to choose a SSD replacement drive, as it should be more shock resistant that a conventional drive. In looking at New Egg I found the flowing, “SSD in that size - Intel 320 Series SSDSA2CW160G3K5 2.5" 160GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive SSD. I have 3 questions on this decision:
1. Will this drive work in my ASUS laptop (assumption is yes and since it is a 160 GB, like the existing drive, I assume the mirror image will have no problem (used Carbonite to do it).
2. This drive is a good bit more money that a regular 160 GD laptop drive , but I expect it to be more shock resistant as well as much faster - are these reasonable expectations?
3. Is there a better choice for a replacement given that I can afford the SSD? Budget is $280 +_.

From a reliability standpoint the Intel 320 would be an excellent choice
The newer Sata III SSDs such as the Curcil M4, Smasung 830, and the Intel 510 might be a tad faster, But I believe you are on a SATA II port so would not see much diff in your daily use.

I did not verify, but your HDD is a 2.5" and not one of the Newer 1.8" drives.

On Cloning the Image. Most recommend a Clean install when moving from a HDD -> a SSD. There is a program that does the cloning OK, Not sure that carbonite would work well.

Cloning:
1) Need to verify that your HDD is using msahci (or iaSTor) as a driver. You can check this easily by downloading and opening AS SSD - DO NOT NEED to run Benchmark. Upper left should show the driver, If it shows pcide then you will need to change to msahci. This would be a registry edit, a reboot to BIOS and set Bios to ahci.