How good is my computer for gaming?

Evil_HAF

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2010
I just built this pc and im still kind of new at it but what are my limitations with this set up
HAF 932 case
AMD phenom x4 9950 be 2.6
biostar TA790gx 128m mobo
7 gigs ram
segate sata II 500 gig HD 3.0
2 xfx 5770's vid cards crossfired
windows 7 64 bit
3 dell se197fp lcd's
850 w power supply
To me this system is running slow what is holding it back? i did a 3dmark and the score didnt impress me and my windows 7 score rated my pc at 5.9 how can that be? Thank you for any input you can provide and i wil provide further info to you all

Solution
Fer cryin' out loud ! . . .

1) Use 2 of the 2 gig sticks until you can get 2 more *exactly* like them ...
Put those two sticks in slots 0 and 2 (1st & 3rd) .. Verify slot ID (on mb).

2) Boot into setup and *manually* verify/enter-force the mfg settings into setup ...

3) At the top level setup menu, select "SAVE AND EXIT" (must save values) ...
During restart pause (f8?) during the POST Report and verify DUAL CH & Cap.

4) When you get 2 more sticks that match the 1st two, zactly, put them in remaining slots ...

5) Repeat steps 2) and 3) (above) ...

Y'all crack me up ...

A: "Well i put the mini-spare tire on my car and it won't go 80mph without shuddering ... "

B: Yeah ... "Ya might try lettin some air outta them...

aberchonbie

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2008
bnot is correct on the hard drive score.. the windows experience index is determined by the lowest scoring portion..

how are the 5770's in crossfire running? thought they fixed eyefinity for crossfire? btw, you should see better performance as ati drivers mature..

victomofreality

Distinguished
Aug 24, 2009
I'm running the 250 version of your hdd and it scores 5.9 so thats probably where your score drops.

A WD raptor would probably raise that score for a better space to cost ratio then an ssd. But the drive you have now will perform just fine.

Alvin Smith

Distinguished