Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Building Computer over 2 years for Computational Prowess!

Last response: in Systems
February 24, 2010 12:24:40 PM

I am a first year PHD student and I am getting Fellowship that allows me 900 dollars a year for computer equipment over three years. I need to spend 900 by the beginning of May and then I can spend another 900 starting an August. My next 900 dollars will be available August of 2011. My plan is to have a working computer by the end of August this year and then do upgrades the following year. This computer will be my primary computer for research in High Energy Particle Physics. I am going to be running code primarily written in c++ and also using root a lot. Power consumption is not a question and I need at least 4 TB storage space at the beginning. Often a file I am working will can be 2TB in size. Running some games would be nice, but not the deal breaker here. Most graphics intensive game I have played recently is Oblivion and Crysis, but Crysis maxes most cards. I would also like to look into doing some programing using the GPU for simulations. I have never built a computer from scratch before, but have upgraded hard drives, cpu, graphics cards, ect in the past. Also the computer will be mine not my universities or research groups.

Primary Operation System: Ubuntu Linux
Secondary Operating Systems: Windows 7 Pro (have student license already), and perhaps Scientific Linux.

Over clocking is certainly on the menu.

I need to full deal, monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers, and all.

I am thinking at first ($1,800 available)
i7-920
12 GB ram (if the processor can use more and it would be worth it 24gb?)
1 SSD as primary HD
3 1.5 TB drives in Raid 0 or 4 1.5 TB drives in raid 5
Graphics Card

I am not sure what is a good motherboard, cooing solution, if I need a raid controller or not.