Sign in with
Your question

Safe temperature and voltage for i5-3570k?

Last response: in Overclocking
December 10, 2012 5:12:21 PM

Hey all,

I just set up the turbo boost on my motherboard to overclock to 4200mhz on my i5-3570k. I'm not very experienced with overclocking, but after some googling around I got some different information regarding safe voltages for this processor.

I was wondering if anyone had any input if these were stable temperatures and voltages for my processor (and gpu, it's the 670 FTW with the FPS Target set to 60, ussually OCs to just under 1200mhz when playing games).

Also, is there any sort of extra wear and tear that goes along with overclocking my components to these speeds/temperatures/voltages? Will it decrease the longevity of the components?

Here are my hwmonitor readings after an hour of Planetside 2 maxed out:

More about : safe temperature voltage 3570k

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
December 10, 2012 8:08:03 PM

The Ivy, I have heard mixed results on the actual safe voltages but I wouldn't run over 1.3v with one personally. Heck, I try to keep my SB below 1.3v and they are supposedly more apt at taking voltage than the SB.

The GTX, I'm not completely sure on those as I've never played with a 670 yet. None of the people I've built for have ever wanted one (grumble). As for what I see though if those are load temps for the CPU and GPU, those temperatures are nice.

Degradations.. it's like cancer for a processor. Will advancing the voltage kill the processor faster? Absolutely. Hot temperatures and high voltages can increase the speed of the die's degradation exponentially. However, there's no real "formula" to rate this degradation but it is there. Extremely high voltages can kill a processor immediately or in just a few hours while heat can do the same thing. But like everything else; over time the parts will wear out and effectively die.