Total n00b, first-time build, i7-920 system

black_douglas

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2010
I'm finally retiring my faithful, nearly a decade old dell. It's barely running. I've decided that I would rather build a new higher-end system then but a mid-range system, which would cost close to the same anyway. The problem is, I've never done this before. It's exciting, and I'm looking forward to learning some new skills, but in the meantime, I'm having trouble figuring some things out. After browsing through some posts here, it appears that this forum is populated by some knowledgeable, helpful folks. So, maybe some of you wouldn't mind helping me out?

I recently bought an i7-920. I'm going to be running Windows 7, probably 64-bit. This computer will be mainly for general usage (messing around online, working from home with word processing, downloading/watching large video files, streaming video, etc), maybe a little gaming, and photo/video editing.

Case

I'm considering the Cooler Master 690 II advanced
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...m_re=cooler_master_692-_-11-119-216-_-Product

or the Antec 900 II, though it's a bit gaudy for my taste
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...129058&cm_re=antec_900-_-11-129-058-_-Product

Both cases are in the $100-$110 range. All i really want in a case is that it's decently quiet, easy to cool, is big enough to hold all my components, and isn't overly complicated for someone who hasn't built a computer before. I don't care about bling, or windows, or anything. Understated is good.

RAM

Considering the following:

Corsair 6GB DDR3, 1600MHz 3x240 DIMM, Unbuffered, 9-9-9-24, XMS3
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0321071

Corsair XMS3 6GB DDR3-1600 (PC-12800) CL8 Memory Kit
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0311100]]

OCZ Gold XTC 6GB DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) CL8 Memory Kit
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0301254