OC on Phenom II 965BE

vandee560

Honorable
May 16, 2012
I have had my Phenom for awhile on a OC of 3.9Ghz at 1.43v. my idle temps are 28-29C and underload up to 56C. I am running a cheap heatsink from BestBuy right now. I just ordered a corsair H100i and am looking to see if I can push my OC higher. my question is that my FBS is at 200mhz my RAM is running at 1600 and that is all my board is able to handle if i push the FBS any higher it wont boot. is there anyway to get around this or am i stuck to only messing with the Multiplier?

I am relatively new to OC if there is anymore info you need to help me let me know and any pointers or advice ill be glad to hear it

Phenom II 965 BE 3.9Ghz (200mhz, 19.5X, 1.43v)
MSI 870A-G46 board

socialfox

Distinguished
+1^ your temperatures seem to be good for such an overclock on a "cheap" cooler, if you want to lower temperatures you could try trial and error for lowering the voltages to the lowest possible value while still maintaining stability. You ask me, an H100i is not worth it for that processor, I believe the H100i itself costs more than your processor :lol:

vandee560

Honorable
May 16, 2012
well i got it nearly stable at 4.2ghz @ 1.48v i run prime and after a few minutes i got worker 3 and 4 error. some the research i have dont that means i am close to stable some say that i should just increase the volts until im stable and some say i need to increase CPU/NB. what should i do next? my CPU/NB is at 2000mhz right now on auto volts

vandee560

Honorable
May 16, 2012
Ram is set at 1.5v ill check that out and report back. Im getting some people saying that overclocking on my board is a no no beacuse of high VRM failure rating. some are saying if i try and overclock i could burn up the board?

Board is a MSI 870A-G46

socialfox

Distinguished