BMF96

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2012
I just OCed the 3570k to 4.4 ghz on the asrock z77 extreme 4. Now the CPU seems to be idling at 60C-65C. Before overclocking, it stayed in the low 30s. Is there something I should be doing differently? All I did was go to the OC menu on BIOS and change it to 4.4. I assumed it auto set the voltage.

This is my first build and first time overclocking, so I'm not very knowledgeable about this.

BMF96

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2012
On the ASRock extreme tuning utility, it says the CPU PPL Voltage is 1.832

I have the phantom 410, which comes with 1 fan on the top, 1 on the back, and one on the front. I am using the Hyper 212 Evo.

BMF96

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2012
After restarting, It says that "Your PC ran into a problem", then it restarts itself and gives me the option to use system restore. I did clear the CMOS but it's still doing it

steddora

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
There's a problem. What's your CPU voltage at in the eXtreme Tuner? Those idle temperatures are a sign of DANGER. If you stress that processor much it's going to melt.

You need to take that thing down on voltage.. I think you hit the auto-voltage BS. Take that processor off of auto voltage and set it to 1.1v on FIXED settings and attempt to boot. Then if you want the 4.4Ghz overclock, slowly boost that voltage one step at a time. Once you get it to boot into windows go back into the bios and set it one notch higher and it should be stable enough to test. But I don't recommend going to 1.3v under any case with that chip.

steddora

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
I hope you read that post while I type this one for you. The auto setting for voltage is dangerous when you start clocking high. It ramps the voltages up against the processors VID. This means if stock it will run from 0.8v to 1.25v at full load; at 4.4Ghz it might run 1.1v to 1.4 or higher. That can be extremely dangerous for an IB chip like yours.