Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Best liquid cooling system? (With HAF X)

Last response: in Overclocking
December 14, 2012 4:27:10 AM

Hey everyone, I'll just get right into it.

I have a Cooler Master HAF X case and I'm looking to build a high end liquid cooled system in it, but I've never done one of these before and thus I do not know exactly what I'm looking for. I don't think that I'm going to liquid cool the chipset, RAM, PSU, or SSD (cause that seems useless), but I do want to liquid cool an intel 3930k (or higher) and maybe 2 GPUs. (at least 1) I was thinking of doing it in a single loop and fitting everything inside the case.

I want to put a GeForce GTX 680 FTW+ 4GB card (the one with the backplate) in this machine (2 of them could be an option), but I can't seem to find a suitable waterblock (or liquid cooling system for that matter). I know that EVGA sells the card with the waterblock already installed, but the price is absolutely outrageous, plus I'd rather get the experience of installing it myself.

I would just go with an EK or Koolance, but from what I understand EVGA does not make their cards reference, so I'm pretty sure that I can't do that. I'm completely new to liquid cooling, so I'm not sure how to confirm that a waterblock will fit a card in the first place.

I've been looking at XSPC (especially their raystorm CPU waterblock) as well as stuff by EK primarily, I am open to any and all suggestions though.

So, keeping in mind that I'm looking for heavy duty, and reliable components, here is what I need to know.

In your opinion, what is the best...

GPU waterblock for an EVGA 680? (and any suggestions you might have on one that will fit the specific card I am looking for)
CPU waterblock? (I will use a 3930k or higher grade chip)
Water Pump? (I keep hearing horror stories of these things dying)
Radiator?
Reservoir? (preferrably something that will fit on top of the optical drive bays or in one or in a few of them)