Small Gaming System

rmele09

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2010
Hello everybody,

I am trying to build a very small HTPC style system that I will be using for gaming. I would like to know if the parts that I have listed below will function together, and all fit in the case. I have never built a system before so I don't want to order all the parts and have them not work. I am worried that the graphics card will not fit coming in at around 8 inches, but let me know what you think. I am not building an extreme gaming system or anything like that, I just want to know if these parts will work correctly together. I will be running a distribution of Linux on the system, possibly Arch Linux or Gentoo. Another thing to point out is that the 9600gt requires 400watt and I am using 250watt power supply, I have tested this build under Thermaltake.com and it shows that it will only require 210watts with 2 gaming controllers being used. (maybe because of the tiny motherboard??) Let me know what you think, I appreciate it.

--ZOTAC G43ITX-A-E LGA 775 Intel G43 HDMI Mini ITX Intel Motherboard
--Celeron L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor (comes with fan and heatsink)
--Secondary Fan Noctua NFP12
--Black Apex MI Series Steel Mini-ITX Tower Computer
Case MI-100-BK, w/ 250W Power Supply
--Kingston ValueRAM 2 GB Memory - SO DIMM 200-pin - 667 MHz
--PNY Verto GeForce 9600GT Graphics adapter - 512 MB - GDDR3 SDRAM
--Sony Optiarc Black IDE DVD-ROM Drive Model DDU1678A - OEM

rmele09

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2010
I forgot to add the hard drive, sorry. Will this one work?

Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3250318AS 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
Internal Hard Drive

If anybody knows of a cheaper hard drive I would be interested, I only need 30-40 GB, I want the cheapest 7200 rpm I can find.

Thanks