M3a770de xfire question x16/x4

I wan wondering will 5770 still crossfire well with one pcie lane being x4? Also te two pcie express lanes are right next to each other will they have room If I choose to watercool them? Thanks this is my first build.
11 answers Last reply
More about m3a770de xfire question
  1. The HD 5770 CF don't need to be watercooled, but you want very good air circulation in your case, and preferably a case with a Top Fan. I assume your HD 5770 are not shrouded {not built to full spec}, but if they're shrouded your case temps will be okay. The HD 5770 will max-out your second X4 lane in CF {the question is by how much for the 2nd GPU w/CF a single card needs an x8}.

If your HD 5770 is shrouded {Full Spec} as bellow then have good front to rear airflow.
  2. Since I already have the loop that I got for cheap should I just include it anyway? Also would you go 5830 for 150 or 5770 for 100?
  3. {I wrote this nice post & poof; this is the shorter version}

The tests were on P7P55D Premium {2 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (single at x16 or dual at x8/x8 mode)}. Your MOBO is not clear about "dual" {I saw x16 and X8}

Therefore, if it were me and knowing in CF you do NOT double your speeds, and your MOBO info then I would recommend a SINGLE GPU. Cost CF HD 5770 = price = HD 5850. Next is you need to know what games you're going to play, games like Crysis eat GPUs for lunch and other do not require a lot of muscle.

CF HD 5770 - http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-5770,2446-5.html
    HD 5850 v 5830 v 5770 - http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-5830,2564-5.html