Sign in with
Your question

Die Fabrication

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
May 4, 2010 6:01:33 PM

Why are CPU & GPU manufacturers shrinking their die fabrication process in steps like 65nm to 55,55 to 45nm etc rather than from 65nm to say 1 or 2nm? Ultimately if they are gonna shrink it,why don't they shrink to large extents? Is there any practical difficulties? Expert opinions awaited...

More about : die fabrication

a c 131 à CPUs
May 4, 2010 6:52:24 PM

So basically you are asking why technology, and specifically die sizes, does not progress faster?
m
l
a b à CPUs
May 4, 2010 7:16:17 PM

I'm no expert on the technical side of things but I'm guessing it's not that simple trying to fit more and more features etc. on a smaller die.

That being said, I'm sure (from a cynical point of view at least) it has a lot to do with money. By reducing things in steps instead of one huge leap they are forcing consumers to purchase everything in between. They know how enthusiastic people can be when it comes to computer technology, hence they are ensuring themselves strong prospects for future business. Simply put, why show your hand straight away when you can make money by delaying the process.

Similarly, I've often heard that technology is available to manufacture light bulbs that will never fail. Although in reality, no manufacturer will ever create this technology since nobody would need to buy light bulbs again hence they are immediately putting themselves out of business. Its the same principle.

In reality it's probably a combination of both of the above points.

m
l
Related resources
May 4, 2010 8:51:38 PM

Technology can't just advance like that, engineers need a ton of research to reduce transistor sizes, and make them work. I don't think we have any technology to even try to make any transistors at 2/1nm.
m
l
a b à CPUs
May 4, 2010 9:24:21 PM

My understanding is that these points are established by the International Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors (ITRS).