How many case fans needed for minimum cooling

sciarra

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2010
I am having trouble choosing between the Lancool K56 and the Lancool K60? I am looking for a case that will be fairly quiet, have 'enough' cooling, and last me for a few builds. My problem is that since I am a first time builder I do not have a sense of how much case fan cooling I need to run a non-overclocked system safely (and quietly).

Future Crossfire setup is not out of the question, but for the moment I will be running:
Phenom II X4 955 (with stock fan)
Gigabyte 890GX
4 GB RAM
Radeon 5670 (Sapphire)

Cases:

K56: 120mm intake, 120mm exhaust
Pro: Smaller than K60, and theoretically quieter
Con: does not come with bottom filter, and same cost as K60 after this is ordered

K60: 140mm intake, 120mm exhaust, 2 x 140mm exhaust
Pro: more case and fans for same cost, and all filters are included
Con: 1.5 inches taller, and theoretically louder

So, is my assumption that the K56 will be quieter correct?

Is the K60 overkill for my cooling needs? Or will the K56 potentially run too hot (and thus be loud)?

Is the K56 too limited to run a future crossfire setup, or will the 2 case fans be 'enough'?

Thanks for any help and advice.

moody89

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2009
I would say that the K56 would be quieter simply due to it having less fans than the K60. Although obviously the K60 would have superior cooling. Cooling is one of those issues thats subjective and down to the individual's needs. It's hard to recommend how much cooling you will need since it depends on several factors, probably the most important being the ambient temperature of the air surrounding your PC.If you live in a particularly hot area then you will obviously need more cooling and vice versa.