Cooling a Radeon 5850

greasy dave

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2009
Hi, I'm in the process of building a new PC and I just bought a Gigabyte HD 5850. I'm looking for tips for a complete beginner on what the air cooling options are out there as an alternative to the stock cooler.

How easy is it to remove the stock cooler and will I void my warranty if I do so?

I'm looking for something that isn't pricey but will cool more quietly and more efficiently than the stock fan.

Doing a web search I found my way to this website
http://www.arctic-cooling.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=2_&mID=256

Does anyone have any other reccomendations?

Thanks in advance?

Oh yeah, and the rest of the system is going to be:
i7 930
GA X58A UD3R
corsair HX 750W
Fractal design Define R2 (case)
Kingston HyperX 4GB
western digital 1TB black caviar

ben10_85

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2010
Sup Dave

OK not everyone all @ once ! :non:

found this thread that might satisfy your needs regarding the cooling . http://www.overclock.net/ati-cooling/675703-aftermarket-cooling-solutions-ati-hd-5850-a-2.html

I think as long as you dont break anything taking it apart , keep all the bits and put it back together like it was if anything should go wrong , Nobody would know what you were up to?? well thats also if there arnt any seals you have to break!

well hope it helps a bit !

I must say its not something that I would like to do to my GPU

Cheers :hello:

I think you made a mistake with the RAM there, Core i7 9XX series supports Triple channel RAM and you have dual channel RAM

You want either 3 x 1GB, 3 x 2GB or 6 x 2GB

And about your question I've got a 5850 and the stock cooler does really well and is silent 20% fan speed and very quiet at 30% fan speed when im gaming. I think the stock cooler is good enough

ben10_85

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2010