So many unresolved Linux problems

Flyboy

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I installed Mandrake 8.0 on my PC about 6 months ago. I like it in general, but I still have so many problems to figure out. I'm new at Linux, so my attempts at fixing these issues have failed. Keep in mind that my attempts have been pretty feable because I'm afraid of screwing up my PC. My thesis work is stored on it and I definitely don't want to risk losing it- even if it is backed up on floppy. Here's the problems that I really REALLY want to fix: (BTW, I've been using Gnome)

1. I still can't print to my network printer attached to a Windows 98SE box from my Linux machine. I know it has to do with CUPS drivers...but don't know how to go about setting this up.

2. I can't write to my zip drive. For some reasong I get an I/O error when trying to access my zip drive. The /zip directory is there, so I believe it is mounted properly. Could this be a disk format issue?

3. I am not able to format a 3.5" floppy. I can read/write to it but can't format the disk.

Any takers out there? Thanks in advance.

BTW, I apologize for vanishing for weeks (months?) at a time, but my schoolwork is really keeping me busy

Catheter and Caffeine IV are in place. Let's PLAY.

G

*takes deep breath*

1. it's probably not cups so much as it's samba. you need to have the samba client (as opposed to the server) software on your box. Set up should be a doddle using Mandrake Control Center's printer set up panel.

2. what sort of zip is it, SCSI or IDE? Either way, if you're getting IO errors somethings up :-( It could be a disk format issue. If Linux doesn't know better, it'll probably try to mount it as ext2, not the vfat (if it's a windows disk) you want. Open up the /etc/fstab file and have a look at the file format it's using.

3. What's going wrong, and which tool are you using to format it? Possibly the automounter is getting in the way, but I'll need more info...

Flyboy

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007