$1,500-$2,000 gaming rig. Need advice please.

Ghost_702

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2010
Hey everyone, first time poster here, love how you guys help each other out so I thought I would try here for some advice. This is my first build ever so go easy on me. I'm basically looking for a good gaming PC that will be able to max games for the next couple of years.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Sometime in March, possibly April.

BUDGET RANGE: Anything below $2,000. I don't want to go above. Prefer to stay in the $1,800 range.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, movies, internet browsing, school work.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard and mouse.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com (Since this is my first build I've never ordered parts before online and hear newegg as a good reputable dealer, which I prefer).

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: United States

PARTS PREFERENCES: I don't prefer one brand to another as I haven't ever gotten into building pc's until now.

OVERCLOCKING: Not within the first few months of building. Perhaps some time down the road.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Need a monitor, so whatever is best for my budget.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:

1)I'm curious if I need a sound card. As I've been researching, I keep hearing you don't need one. What are your guys' opinions on the subject? I use Bose Around Ear headphones if that helps at all.

2)I'm curious if a Radeon 5870 GPU is a lot better than the 5850 and if I should just go for the 5850 to save an extra $80 or so.

3) Also, should I get the OEM version of windows 7? I've been reading that it's against Microsoft terms of use (or what have you) to use OEM versions of their operating systems if you don't plan on selling the system.

Thanks in advance to all that can help!

Parts List:
Case- Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

Motherboard- ASUS Crosshair III Formula AM3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail