Sign in with
Your question

Advice on My Build Please

Last response: in Systems
February 27, 2010 1:17:33 PM

Hi all!

First off, I am new to Tom's Hardware. Well I have been on many times as a reader, this is my first time signing up and posting.

I am considering this build that my friend considers a waste of money so I thought I would get some advice here. So here we go...

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE:within the next month/week

BUDGET RANGE: <$1,700 CAD, After Rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: gaming, surfing the internet, watching movies, 24/7 up and running seeding torrents

PARTS NOT REQUIRED:keyboard, mouse. Some parts I may be able to salvage from my old computer, I included these in the list.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: include shipping: newegg.ca, tigerdirect.ca. Do not include shipping: Infonec.com, Canadacomputers.com

OVERCLOCKING: No / Maybe SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe

MONITOR RESOLUTION:1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I would like a quiet PC

PARTS PREFERENCES:

Case:
Salvaged: Thermaltake Xaser III Skull ($0)

New:Antec Three Hundred ($59)

PSU:
Salvaged: Antec TP3-650 ($0)

New:Corsair 750 W (CMPSU-750TX) ($129)

MOBO: ASUS P6T X58 ICH10 ($239)

CPU: CORE I7 920 ($309)

RAM: OCZ3P1333LV6GK ($139 after rebate, deal ends this weekend)

or

F3-10666CL7T-6GBPK ($179 plus shippin)

HDD: st3500418as ($55) x1 (i already have 1 of these, plan to Raid 0 two of em) will add existing 1 TB drive for storage also

ODD: LG GH22NS50 ($22)

VIDEO: HD 5850 ($289)

Monitor: ASUS VW246H 24" ($229)

So my logic is, go with this mobo and in future I can add another HD5850 (2x x16 PCIe 2.0), another 6 GB Ram (total 12 GB, 6 slots), and intel's new i9 six core's will support sock 1366. Will most likely need a PSU upgrade too.

What do you guys think about using my old case and psu?

I believe this adds to <1700 which I am happy with, any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

More about : advice build

March 11, 2010 11:14:23 PM