How far could I O/C the 3570K

Shaidz

Honorable
Nov 6, 2012
Just so you know I haven't actually built this yet but I am just wondering how far I could overclcok with this build and what voltages and stuff to go to. (This is my first build and am not familiar with overclocking)

i5 3570k
Hyper 212 Evo
MSI Z77A-G45
I'm not sure about the thermal paste should I use the one that comes with the EVO or buy something else?

Thankyou.

thequn

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2012
cough- I have that board and I keep mine at 4.5 and never had any mobo Issues and i safely taken it to 5.0 with a 12 hour prime test with no issues but I don't need it that high for anything I do.

Shaidz

Honorable
Nov 6, 2012

Forgive me if I'm wrong but don't you have to change the voltage to overclock? Again I may be wrong since I am new to building. What voltage to you have yours set to?

steddora

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
Depends heavily on the chip. Each chip is different and just because one guy can hold 4.5Ghz doesn't mean the next guy will with the same equipment. However, here's how it works in a very basic point of view.

You boost the clock (with multiplier settings on a K-Series) and get a higher frequency. At a certain point the voltage (only if not set to auto) will need to be increased to preserve stability as the higher the clock the higher the possibility of instability.