itialianpasta

Honorable
Mar 13, 2012
Ok so long story short (we all hate long stories) i thought i set up raid 0 and after downloading things realized that i must not have. Is there any way to set up raid 0 without having to remove everything (including windows)? As i am fairly new to computers, as you may have guesses, a step by step process would help greatly although all answers are welcome and appreciated.

tomatthe

Distinguished
To answer your question, no. You can't create a raid 0 set without erasing the data on the drives in the process.

As alt-rtt said if you are new to computers running raid 0 is probably not a good idea anyway. It's just not worth the risk imo.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
Fully agree with those who advised against RAID0 for you. Besides, these days RAID0 does not give you a BIG speed improvement. However, an SSD WILL be noticeably faster than any storage system based on rotating mechanical drives. You would disconnect your current HDD, then install the SSD, then re-install your OS on it and use it as your boot drive called C:. After that you re-connect your HDD.

Now want to tell Windows that you want to change the location of many of its default Folders like My Programs, My Documents, My Photos, etc. and put them on the D: drive, too. That way you won't fill up the SSD (fast, but limited capacity) with stuff you don't really need FAST access to.

Now you still have a bit of a problem. All the application software you've already installed on your old drive will need to be re-installed. You see, "install" also includes placing data in the Windows Registry on where the app software is located. A new installation of your OS on the SSD will have no clue that you have app software sitting on the HDD, so you must Install to get the Registry clued in. And in doing so, for the majority of apps you will want it to install NOT to your C: drive (as is usually the default), but to the D: drive (that is, your HDD that now has a new name).