Intel 520 or Samsung 830... (or... ?)

Xdreamer

Honorable
Mar 14, 2012
Hey

I'm planning on building my next gaming/work computer some time in late april when Z77 MB's and Ivy Bridge hits the stores and of course i'm gonna need an SSD. But which?

I've narrowed it down to either an 120 GB Intel 520 or an 128 GB Samsung 830. But i don't know which :)
From what i have read Intel should have better warranty, but i've also heard that the 520 should become slower when the free space is getting smaller.
Regarding the Samsung 830, i haven't heard that much bad about it, only that it "only" has 3 years warranty or something like that.

I'm 50:50 on those two SSDs and don't know what to get. Stability is important... and of course speed.

HELP xD
BTW it's gonna be my first SSD, so i have no experience on this.

THX in advance :bounce:

You can't go wrong with either. They are both big players who have control over the underlying chips.
Samsung currently is priced a bit lower, but SSD prices in general are coming down.

I would not worry about performance differences which only become apparent under unrealistic synthetic stress tests.

No need to make any decisions now, the prices will only go lower, just keep an eye on the market.

All SSD's get much much slower when you fill them near to the max.

As for either the 520 or 830 - well both are supposedly very reliable.

I have the Crucial M4 128GB SSD right now - and it's been a champ for me (no errors, no BSODS).

I would say - get whichever is cheaper for you to get (the intel or samsung). :)

adampower

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2010
If sold on the sandforce based 520 but I agree with Chainzsaw... take the one that has the best sale at the time. I actually saw some good deals on the 520 the other day.

You have chosen the best two consumer ssds in the world. 49% of people will say 520, 49% will go for the 830 and the other 2% will use a reliable intel 320 or crucial M4/intel 510 (same controller)