Sign in with
Your question

H80 vs H100

Last response: in Overclocking
December 21, 2012 1:21:32 AM

H80 vs H100 on this build I am getting in February: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/trRY

Please tell me if you would recommend anything else. However I do not wish to do custom water cooling as I am not good with tubes. :o 

More about : h80 h100

a c 129 K Overclocking
December 21, 2012 2:24:50 AM

Sure you want closed loop water cooling in the first place?
The Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E is cheaper and quieter than the H100 and performs very similarly.

IF you do decide to go for closed loop water cooling I would much rather suggest getting either the H100i or H80i as they ahve far better fans and tubing and a slightly improved CPU cooling block.

How much of an OC are you looking to get?
The H100(i) is simply just better than the H80(i) so its all about whether you find the added money worth it.

Are you also aware that the card you chose is VERY loud... You m ay want to consider rather getting 2 of the HD7970 GHz Ed. It would be faster and cost a similar price.
a b K Overclocking
December 21, 2012 2:42:21 AM

Honestly, don't get a closed-loop water cooler.

I'll give you some reasons why they've bad vs a normal air cooler:

1) They have way more moving parts. This makes them a LOT more likely to break, as they have many more things that can break

2) When they DO break, you're screwed. Unlike a normal cooler, you don't have a giant metal heatsink left if the moving parts do stop moving, so your CPU doesn't have time to downthrottle properly.

3) Should it fail catastrophically, instead of denting your case with a flying plastic bit, it spews liquid everywhere. That's bad.

4) They're noisier than a comparable air cooler, because the fans have to work harder because the heatsink is denser.

5) You get the same cooling performance for CHEAPER by buying a good air cooler - the Silver Arrow or Noctua D14 are both amazing options.

ALSO: