Need a bit of help on memory

Bobbarry

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2010
Every three years or so I sit down to build a new computer. I am no expert and do not follow all the changes between builds. My starting point is the September 2010 build for $1,000 article. For the sake of these questions assume I use the computer for gaming and I generally run one program at a time. I wander into Newegg and look at the item and similar items, compare prices and read through a few reviews. That being said I put my wish list together and get this far:

ASUS P7P55D-E Pro LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core i5-760 Lynnfield 2.8GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80605I5760

MSI N470GTX-M2D12-B GeForce GTX 470 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade

Now the last time I did a build with trusty Windows XP, I was reading about the memory limitations for the 32 bit version of XP which I own. For this build I wanted to jump up to a 64 bit os with the intent of taking advantage of more memory. So I started looking at memory ( I like Corsair) and along the line I read some articles, tried to look up what memory would go well with the above choices, got a blistering headache and realized I was totally lost. Let me ask some simplistic questions to get me back on track:

Reading about the i5 I see mention of two channels for memory. Looking at i7 I read, “Intel Core i7 enables three channels of DDR3 1066 MHz memory” and wandering through Corsair products I see they sell these 3 packs of memory sticks for the i7. Now does that mean that if I use the i5 with two channels, it will only work (note the word phrasing) on two memory sticks?

Same question as above but change the wording to: recommended you use only 2 memory sticks.

Or should I just not get hung up on the channel thing and fill up the 4 memory slots?