Some General Overclocking Questions

Dapake

Honorable
Apr 2, 2012
Hello all,

I have a couple questions on overclocking and I am new to overclocking.

I desire to overclock my AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE (stock 3.4 GHz) and wasn't sure what my first goal to overclock should be? Also, what is the typical clock speed of an overclocked Phenom II x4? (btw I have done a little research on this but just wanted to get some opinions).

I also have some questions on cooling. I need to acquire a new cpu heatsink/fan but I am inexperienced in aftermarket coolers. However, I have seen that the CoolerMaster Hyper 212 and the Hyper 212 EVO are good and affordable coolers. Are there any other coolers I should research? Also, is there a big difference between the Hyper 212 EVO and the Hyper 212?

Finally I just had a general question. I have read guides that inform one how to overclock using the unlocked multiplier. However, is this the only way to efficiently overclock? Or is it more advantageous to increase the base clock speed rather than just the multiplier?

Sorry for all these questions I just wanted to get some opinions from this great community. :)

Thank you very much for the help

P.S: My system build:

GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

XFX HD-687A-ZHFC Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE

Solution
A Deneb chip should reach 4Ghz on air relatively easily,
although some just won't shift past 3.8GHz no matter how you try and some can reach 4.6GHz (Not on air though:p)
There is the black edition guide up the top of this section and that deals with multiplier clocking,