Overclocking causing CPU throttling.

silversuns

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2012
So i just started overclocking and the first thing i noticed is i cannot get a stable overclock with stock voltages. The highest i can get on my 8350 is 4.2 on stock voltages. If i want to go to a higher clock it take wayyy more voltage than it should to be stable in prime95. I was looking at what other people voltages were and saw that people were getting 4.5 on stock voltages :ouch: . If i want to get to 4.5 i need 1.48 v to get it stable and then it throttles in prime and ITB. Now this is my first attempt of overclocking the last time i overclocked it was on my old 960t. I'm thinking its my motherboards power delivery that is holding it back since it is a budget 990fx board from asrock. Any help at all would be appreciated.

Solution
If it's actually holding its clock speed and your temps are good, I wouldn't worry about lower than-stock voltage. (Unless it's unstable)

Z1NONLY

Distinguished
If your temps are good, disable APM in your BIOS.

Bulldozer used this feature to keep the TDP below rated wattage under full load. (automatic "throttling" even with good temps.)

It's sounds like the feature is still in use with Pile driver.

silversuns

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2012
The thing is i did that and i also disabled cool n' quiet. My temps don't go over 40C on prime. I can't see how that's possible but i'm looking at hardware monitor and i'm running prime at stock speeds and its says 33C. I knew an h100 was good but i didn't know it was that good. Also prime is only using 94-98% of my cpu and my clocks go from 3.68 - 3.82. I think im not using the right version of prime since i am running Windows 8.

steddora

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012