I'm new to Raid..........

DAMAGED_GOODS

Honorable
Mar 15, 2012
Hello,
I recently bought/built this system:

ASRock 990FX Extreme4 Socket AM3+ ATX AMD Motherboard

AMD PHENOM II X4 840 Boxed Processor

2x Crucial Ballistix Sport Series 8GB DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) CL10 Dual Channel Desktop Memory Kit (Two 4GB Memory Modules) 16GB total

Patriot 60GB 2.5" SATA III 6Gb/s Pyro Solid State Drives (SSD) with SandForce 2281 Controller

3x Western Digital Caviar Green 2 TB Desktop Hard Drive WD20EARX

Zotac ZT-50403-10L NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1024MB GDDR5 PCIe 2.0 x16 Video Card

Vantec NexStar SE Dual 2.5" SATA Mobile Rack with Memory Card Reader and USB Ports

2x Scythe Ultra Kaze 120mm 3,000RPM Case Fan

2x Scythe Slip Stream 120mm 1,900 RPM Case Fan

Pioneer Electronics USA BDR-2206B5PK BDR Optical Drive - Retail

OCZ Technology ZX Series 1250 Watt ATX Modular Power Supply

Cooler Master Elite 430 Mid Tower Computer Case

Windows 7 Ultimate

The motherboard says it supports running Raid 0, 1, 5 and 1+0. I am trying to run my operating system on the solid state drive and run the three 2TB hard drives in Raid 5, to hold everything else. I have been having trouble doing so.
I called Asrock and they told me that it is not possible to run Raid 5 for your storage, that you have to run Raid 5 with the operating system on the three drives.
My teacher says it can be run with the os on the ssd and the 3 hdd for storage, he thinks I will need a separate Raid controller card.
Now I contacted Microcenter's online tech support to ask them. They say that the motherboard should be able to, but he thinks I will need two Raid controllers and that I may only be able to run Raid 0 or 1.

So far no one can answer me as to weather or not I can run it the way I would like to.

SO my first question is can you run your operating system on a ssd and use three hdd in Raid 5 for everything else? And does anyone have a clue how to begin to do this?

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!