Questions about overclocking.

eldapeeze

Honorable
Dec 23, 2012
I am pretty new to overclocking so I had a few questions about it.

1) Will overclocking ruin the computer faster? I've heard this could be the case.

2) what type of processors (looking at any Intel I-5) and motherboards are best for overclocking?

3) What is the best type of heatsink and fan to use for overclocking? (I prefer not to use liquid cooling because i don't know anything about it either).

4) If I overclock my CPU, do I have to overclock my RAM and GPU also?

Any answers would be great. Thanks!

Solution
1 : Absolutely. Running extremely high voltages and frequencies can shorten processor life exponentially. However running a mild overclock usually won't hurt the CPU life at all.

2 : Intel K series processors have unlocked multipliers. i5-2500k and i5-3570k are good to look at in this area. If you're looking to overclock and you buy a locked non-k intel chip... well you get what you deserve.

3 : There's so many out there today. I recommend the ultra cheap yet very good performance Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus. It can be had for cheap and performs extremely well.

4 : The answer is NO. On the last two generations of the i-series processors, the K-Series chips have eliminated any front side bus overclocking from being...

steddora

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
1 : Absolutely. Running extremely high voltages and frequencies can shorten processor life exponentially. However running a mild overclock usually won't hurt the CPU life at all.

2 : Intel K series processors have unlocked multipliers. i5-2500k and i5-3570k are good to look at in this area. If you're looking to overclock and you buy a locked non-k intel chip... well you get what you deserve.

3 : There's so many out there today. I recommend the ultra cheap yet very good performance Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus. It can be had for cheap and performs extremely well.