Sign in with
Your question
Closed

How High Is Too High?

Last response: in Overclocking
December 24, 2012 6:40:01 AM

So I recently got bored and decided to increase my over clock lol. Right now I am running an AMD 965 black @ 4.2ghz with 1.45 core, stock cooler, and no thermal paste. I have been running this setup for maybe 3 months @ 4ghz. Anyway, I just granked it to 4.2 and raised volts through AMD Overdrive software, not that CCC *** the actual stand alone software, and low and behond I am running hot hot hot. Like 65C hot. I have done 10-hour gaming session on skyrim, max settings with 4k textures and I would be money I hit the high 70s maybe low 80s. Any thoughts on the viability of this as it is only rated for 62C. AMD chip beefy enough to handle this for a couple years?

More about : high high

a c 202 à CPUs
a c 125 À AMD
a c 129 K Overclocking
December 24, 2012 9:56:19 AM

NOOOOOO... No thermal paste??? Stock cooler??? Say what??? 65C??? No no no no... Do not EVER go above rated temps... They are there for a reason. You are dropping the life from that chip day by day!

Get a better cooler and for crying out load give that CPU some thermal paste!

I am seriously thinking this HAS to be a troll post...
Score
December 24, 2012 10:07:03 AM

Novuake said:
NOOOOOO... No thermal paste??? Stock cooler??? Say what??? 65C??? No no no no... Do not EVER go above rated temps... They are there for a reason. You are dropping the life from that chip day by day!

Get a better cooler and for crying out load give that CPU some thermal paste!

I am seriously thinking this HAS to be a troll post...

Lmao it truly is not. Am I torturing it that badly? It can go a little over 62, come on :lol:  AMD is like Scotty giving estimates to Kirk on how long until warp-drive is back online. He says it'll take him 10 hours, but he knows he can do it in 6. Atleast 70C I think is safe. Am I completely wrong?
Score
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking